Roasted Tomato Soup (vegan)

Roasted Tomato Soup (vegan)

I went to my farmer’s market this past Sunday and what a bargain I got! A large box of gorgeous tomatoes for $5! I could not pass it up.

So, what do I do with this prize? First, I called up some friends to share. Doesn’t food always taste so much better when you share it? I think so!

Then, I headed home and thought about what I should make with such a find. Pico de Gallo, tomato sauce, tomato soup… Yum! I made Pico de Gallo Sunday night and this Roasted Tomato Soup tonight. It  turned out so rich and flavorful. I hope you enjoy it as much as Paul and I did.

IMG_7232  photo

Roasted Tomato Soup
Serves 4

Ingredients
8 large fresh tomatoes (about 9 cups, cored and halved)
6 garlic cloves
2 bell peppers (red, yellow, orange) (cut in large pieces)
1 medium yellow onions (cut in 8th)
3 Tbsp grapeseed oil
1/8 tsp salt (to taste)
1/8 tsp freshly ground black pepper (to taste)
3 cups vegetable stock (low sodium)
1 Tbsp tomato paste
2 bay leaves
1/4 tsp thyme
1/4 tsp basil

Handful of chopped fresh basil or cilantro for garnish (optional).

Instructions
Preheat oven to 450F

In the soup pot, add the tomatoes, bell peppers, garlic cloves, onions, grapeseed oil, salt and pepper. Toss until vegetables are coated well.

Place the vegetables on a baking tray. Roast for 30-35 minutes, or until caramelized. Make sure you don’t burn them!

Remove the roasted vegetables from the oven and transfer along with any roasting juices into the pot. Turn the temperature to high, add 3 cups of the vegetable stock, tomato paste, bay leaves, thyme, and basil. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer uncovered for 20-30 minutes, the liquid should reduced by about a quarter.

Discard bay leaves. (I’ve unfortunately forgotten this step a few times!)

Use an immersion blender to puree the soup until smooth. Season to taste with salt and freshly ground black pepper if needed.

Garnish in bowl with chopped fresh basil or cilantro. You can also top with some croutons. I served it with Ezekiel bread toast. I wanted to keep the meal simple.

I hope you are able to try this recipe and you enjoy it as well.

Wishing you all the best!

Vivian

If you like what you see, please subscribe:
YouTube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRb0sQhiPRHbW3Ika4V2avQ/videos

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LittleShopofGoodness

2 thoughts on “Roasted Tomato Soup (vegan)

Leave a Reply

